• Welcome to SD Soccer Talk the newest and greatest place for all your Soccer Discussions! Our aim is to provide you with an awesome space to talk, share and discuss what's going on in the San Diego Soccer Community. To be able to join in the discussion, you do need to register a free account. Registration is easy, and it only takes a few minutes! Click here to register!

BRYAN PRICE ON TEACHING THE MENTAL SIDE OF YOUTH SOCCER

B

Bryan Price

Help! I’m a Coach and Want to Teach the Mental Game – Part II

If you’re a soccer coach, chances are you religiously keep up with the latest drills and methods to improve the technical and tactical aspects of your team.

You want to know the latest trends in strategy, formations, and styles of play to stay one step ahead of the competition on the pitch. And, even though U.S. Soccer agrees that the psychological component is the 4th pillar of player development, there are very few quality resources for coaches and players.

Bryan-Price-The-Mental-Side-of-Soccer.jpg

Read: TEACHING THE MENTAL SIDE OF YOUTH SOCCER

In an article published last year on how the U.S. Women’s National Team was developing their mental game, the author discussed the important gap between recognizing mental strength training is important and providing the tools need to close this gap:

Most soccer coaches say ‘yes,’ mental training is important but when asked if they actually provide any … the answer is almost always ‘no.’

But don’t panic. Soccer Today has you covered with a series of articles for coaches looking to improve the mental toughness of their teams.

In Part I of this series, I discussed the mind-body connection, shared tips on where to start, and suggested how coaches get buy-in from their teams on the mental game.

Here in Part II, I provide five activities that every coach should have in their mental game toolkit.

BRYAN-PRICE-ON-TEACHING-THE-MENTAL-SIDE-OF-YOUTH-SOCCER.jpg

So Where Do I Begin?

Pre-season Soccer Activities